Hostinger fits most beginners: Premium costs $2.99 a month on a 48-month term, renews at $10.99, and includes free weekly backups and 12 server locations to choose from.
HostGator fits US site owners who want cPanel, phone support from the Baby plan up, or 10 sites on Hatchling, which renews at $10.99 a month on a 3-year term.
Since both entry plans renew for about $132 a year on their longest terms, the real decision comes down to what each plan includes.
We have paid for Hostinger ourselves since December 2024, so the Hostinger side uses our own invoice and test results.
HostGator’s side comes from its official pricing page, price chart, terms, and help articles.
Hostinger or HostGator?
Hostinger is the better choice for most first sites, while HostGator suits US owners who want cPanel, phone help, or 10 small sites on its $10.99 entry plan.

Choose Hostinger if you want free backups, a choice of server location, and a low price for years. It suits a first blog, portfolio, or small business site.
Choose HostGator if you already know cPanel, want phone support, or run several small sites. Its servers sit mainly in the US, so it fits US audiences best.
Consider neither if you need managed WordPress or expect heavy traffic. Shared hosting from either company would only be a stopgap there.
Hostinger vs HostGator at a glance
Hostinger and HostGator both renew their entry plans at $10.99 a month on long terms, but they differ on backups, server choice, site limits, and phone support.
| Hostinger | HostGator | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan and first-term price | Premium: $2.99/mo on a 48-month term | Hatchling: promo price shown as a discount on 36-month terms |
| Entry renewal price | $10.99/mo after the 48-month term | $10.99/mo on a 3-year term, $13.19/mo on 1 year, $17.59 month to month |
| Entry plan limits | 3 websites, 20 GB SSD | 10 websites, 10 GB SSD |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% a month, 5% credit if missed | None stated |
| Backups | Free: weekly on Premium, daily on Unlimited | Courtesy copies, one week kept, restore fee |
| Server location | 12 locations, you choose | Mostly Provo, Utah, and Atlanta, Georgia, no choice |
| Phone support | None listed (24/7 chat) | Baby plan and up |
| Money-back guarantee | 30 days | 30 days, hosting fees only |
| Current plans and prices | See Hostinger plans | See HostGator plans |
Hostinger vs HostGator: what you pay once the discount ends
Hostinger Premium and HostGator Hatchling both renew at $10.99 a month, but HostGator only matches that price if you renew for three years at once.
Both hosts sell shared hosting with a big first-term discount. The regular price that follows matters more, because you will likely pay it for years.
| Plan level | Hostinger (renewal after the 48-month term) | HostGator (regular price, 1-year term) | HostGator (regular price, 3-year term) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry | Premium: $10.99/mo | Hatchling: $13.19/mo | Hatchling: $10.99/mo |
| Middle | Unlimited: $16.99/mo | Baby: $18.69/mo | Baby: $16.49/mo |
Prices confirmed on September 25, 2026.
Prices change often, so check Hostinger’s current prices and HostGator’s current prices before you buy.
Hostinger’s renewal prices come from its web hosting page. HostGator’s come from its official hosting price chart.
That chart carries no date, and HostGator says your exact renewal rate appears in your control panel. Confirm it before you renew.
In yearly terms, Hostinger Premium costs $131.88 after its first term. Hatchling costs $131.87 a year on a 3-year renewal, or $158.27 for a single year.
Hostinger’s renewal price also depends on the term. Its billing guide says longer cycles usually cost less per month.
Hostinger’s pricing page also shows crossed-out regular prices of $11.99 for Premium and $18.99 for Unlimited. Check the exact renewal quote in your account before you pay.
HostGator shows its first-term promo only as a percentage off on 36-month terms, and it changes with each promotion. That’s why we compare regular rates here.
Our Hostinger invoice vs HostGator’s renewal pattern
We bought Hostinger’s Business Web Hosting plan on December 3, 2024, on a 4-year term. We paid $113.28, against a list price of $431.52.
That works out to about $2.36 a month for the first term. The list price equals $8.99 a month, which is our account’s renewal rate.
So our monthly cost will jump about 3.8 times when the plan renews on February 3, 2029. The purchase is documented on our Purchased Hosting Evidence page.
Hostinger has since replaced the Business plan. Its web hosting page now lists Premium, Unlimited, and Cloud Startup, so compare plans by what they include.
Two lessons came from that bill. A long first term delays the price jump for years, and the renewal price is the number to budget for.
The same pattern behind hosting renewal pricing applies to HostGator too.
Hostinger vs HostGator plans: what you get at each level
HostGator Hatchling allows 10 websites against 3 on Hostinger Premium, while Premium gives twice the storage (20 GB vs 10 GB) and includes backups.
| Feature | Hostinger Premium | HostGator Hatchling | Hostinger Unlimited | HostGator Baby |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Websites | 3 | 10 | Unlimited | 20 |
| Storage | 20 GB SSD | 10 GB SSD | 50 GB NVMe | 20 GB SSD |
| Suggested traffic | Not stated | About 40,000 visits a month | Not stated | About 50,000 visits a month |
| Backups | Free weekly | Courtesy backups, 1 week kept | Free daily | Courtesy backups, 1 week kept |
| Free domain | First year | First year, on 12-month or longer terms | First year | First year, on 12-month or longer terms |
| 2 mailboxes per site, free for 1 year | Included | Unlimited mailboxes per site, free for 1 year | Included | |
| Control panel | hPanel | cPanel | hPanel | cPanel |
| Support | 24/7 chat | 24/7 chat | 24/7 chat | 24/7 chat and phone |
These specs come from Hostinger’s pricing page and web hosting page, and from HostGator’s pricing page.
NVMe is a newer, faster type of storage than standard SSD. It helps most when your site reads many files or database entries at once.
HostGator also sells Business and Pro plans, with 50 and 100 websites. Its price chart shows no regular price for Pro.
HostGator publishes hard limits too. Its account limits summary caps each cPanel account at 25% of a CPU and 25 simultaneous processes, and Hatchling at 20 databases.
Backups at Hostinger vs HostGator: the difference most beginners miss
Hostinger includes free weekly or daily backups on every web hosting plan, while HostGator makes courtesy backups only for accounts under 20 GB and charges to restore them.
A backup is a saved copy of your site that you can restore if something breaks.
Hostinger backs up Premium weekly, and Unlimited and Cloud Startup daily. Its plan page doesn’t say how many days of copies it keeps.
HostGator calls its shared hosting backups a courtesy. It runs them only for accounts under 20 GB and 100,000 inodes, and keeps one week of copies.
An inode is roughly one file or folder, so a site with many images can reach that limit.
HostGator also charges a one-time fee to restore a backup for you. It asks you to keep your own copies, and suggests its paid CodeGuard service instead.
Winner: Hostinger. Its backups are included in the price and don’t depend on your account size.
Server location: Hostinger lets you choose, HostGator doesn’t
Hostinger lets you pick from 12 server locations on four continents, while HostGator places most servers in Utah and Georgia and doesn’t let you choose.
Distance adds delay to every page request. That’s why server location matters most when your visitors live far from the data center.
Hostinger lets you pick your data center when you order.
The options are France, Germany, Lithuania, the Netherlands, the UK, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, the USA (Phoenix, Boston, and Asheville), and Brazil.
You can move an active plan to another server later. Hostinger warns that capacity limits apply, and you may not be able to switch back.
HostGator says most of its servers sit in Provo, Utah, and Atlanta, Georgia, and you cannot choose.
Its plans list Cloudflare’s CDN. A CDN keeps copies of your pages in data centers around the world, which shortens the trip for faraway visitors.
Winner: Hostinger for audiences outside the US. For a US-only audience, HostGator’s locations are a reasonable fit.
Hostinger vs HostGator performance: what our Hostinger account showed
Our Hostinger test site loaded its largest element in 442 ms on GTmetrix, but we did not test HostGator, so this isn’t a head-to-head speed result.
We ran these tests on our own Business Web Hosting account, using a test site called hostingguider.online.
- Uptime: 100% over 24 hours, 7 days, and 30 days on UptimeRobot, with zero incidents and a 336 ms average response time.
- GTmetrix: Performance score 100% and Structure score 93%, with a Largest Contentful Paint of 442 ms.
- PageSpeed Insights: 99 out of 100 on both desktop and mobile.
- Security: an A grade from SSL Labs on all four connections tested, two over IPv4 and two over IPv6.
Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) measures how long the biggest item on a page takes to appear. Google’s web.dev guidance counts 2.5 seconds or less as good.
The same account runs eight live websites. Our Hostinger review has the full results, including regional response times.
These numbers come from one plan, one test site, and one test period. Treat them as one real data point, not a promise.
On paper, Hostinger backs its hosting with a 99.9% monthly uptime guarantee, while HostGator offers none.
Hostinger’s hosting agreement pays a credit of 5% of that month’s fee, claimable within 30 days.
HostGator’s terms of service make no promise that the service will be uninterrupted, and its pricing page names no uptime figure.
Hostinger hPanel or HostGator cPanel: which is easier for a first site?
Hostinger’s hPanel is simpler for a first site, while HostGator’s cPanel suits people who already know it from other hosts.
A control panel is the dashboard where you install WordPress, set up email, and manage files.
Hostinger uses hPanel, its own custom-built panel. HostGator uses cPanel, the long-standing panel you’ll find at many hosts.
We manage eight sites in hPanel, and it keeps the common tasks on one screen. That helps a beginner.
cPanel shows many more tools at once. The upside is that the skills carry over to other hosts.
Winner: tie. Pick hPanel for a first site. Pick cPanel if you already know it.
Support at Hostinger vs HostGator: who you can reach
HostGator offers phone support from its Baby plan up, while Hostinger lists 24/7 support without a phone channel on its plan pages.
Hostinger’s web hosting page promises help around the clock, which in practice means live chat. HostGator’s Hatchling plan is chat only, and Baby, Business, and Pro add phone support.
Winner: HostGator if talking to someone by phone matters to you. The HostGator review covers its plans and support in more depth.
Hostinger vs HostGator refunds and fees if you change your mind
Hostinger and HostGator both give 30 days to get your hosting money back, and both can keep part of it when a free domain came with the plan.
Hostinger may deduct the price of the free domain from your refund, under its refund policy, last revised September 8, 2026.
It never refunds domain renewals or privacy protection.
That policy also excludes the first payment after a free trial.
HostGator’s guarantee covers hosting fees only. Its pricing page lists a non-refundable $15.00 domain registration fee, and a $17.99 fee if the free domain is cancelled within the first year.
Winner: tie. Both keep part of your money when a free domain is involved. If you’re only testing a host, decide within the 30 days.
Hostinger vs HostGator winners by category
Hostinger wins four of the nine categories below, HostGator wins two (websites on the entry plan and phone support), and three are ties.
| Category | Winner | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Price after the discount (entry plan) | Tie | $10.99/mo on Hostinger Premium, and on HostGator Hatchling with a 3-year renewal |
| Websites on the cheapest plan | HostGator | 10 sites on Hatchling vs 3 on Premium |
| Storage | Hostinger | 20 GB vs 10 GB at entry, and NVMe from Unlimited up |
| Backups | Hostinger | Free weekly or daily backups vs courtesy backups with a restore fee |
| Server location choice | Hostinger | 12 locations on four continents vs no choice |
| Uptime guarantee | Hostinger | 99.9% with a 5% credit vs no stated guarantee |
| Control panel | Tie | hPanel for beginners, cPanel for existing cPanel users |
| Phone support | HostGator | Phone and chat from Baby up |
| Refund terms | Tie | Both keep part of your payment when a free domain is involved |
Our pick: Hostinger, for most people starting their first site. HostGator wins for US-based owners who value cPanel, phone support, or many small sites on one cheap plan.
Should you choose Hostinger or HostGator?
Hostinger fits budget first sites and non-US audiences, while HostGator fits US businesses that want phone help or up to 20 small sites on Baby.
Starting a first blog or portfolio on a tight budget: Hostinger Premium. A long first term keeps the cost low for years, and weekly backups are included.
Running a small local business in the US that wants phone help: HostGator Baby. You get phone support and room for 20 sites, and US servers suit local visitors.
Planning several tiny hobby sites: HostGator Hatchling fits more sites for the money. Keep your own backups, because HostGator’s are a courtesy.
Serving visitors in Europe, Asia, or South America: Hostinger, because you can place your server near your audience.
Outgrowing both entry lines: our list of the cheapest hosts worth using covers other options for different budgets.
Ready to check prices? Visit Hostinger or visit HostGator to see today’s plans before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
Is Hostinger better than HostGator?
Yes, for most beginners. Hostinger bundles backups and server choice at the same $10.99 entry renewal, while HostGator is the better pick for cPanel fans and phone support.
Which is cheaper to renew, Hostinger or HostGator?
Neither, at the entry level on long terms: both come to $10.99 a month. On a 1-year renewal, HostGator Hatchling costs more at $13.19.
Does HostGator or Hostinger include free backups?
Only Hostinger includes them as a plan feature. HostGator’s copies are a courtesy for small accounts and cost a fee to restore.
Can you choose a data center with Hostinger or HostGator?
Yes with Hostinger, which offers 12 locations. No with HostGator, which assigns most accounts to Utah or Georgia.
Does Hostinger or HostGator offer phone support?
HostGator does, starting with the Baby plan. Hostinger relies on 24/7 chat.
Do Hostinger and HostGator both offer a money-back guarantee?
Yes. Each gives 30 days on hosting, but each may keep domain costs if a free domain came with the plan.
How we compared Hostinger and HostGator
Our Hostinger data comes from a Business Web Hosting account we have paid for since December 3, 2024, while HostGator’s details come from its official pages.
The test results come from our test site, hostingguider.online, using UptimeRobot, GTmetrix, PageSpeed Insights, and SSL Labs.
HostGator was not tested. We used its pricing page, price chart, terms of service, and its backup, data center, and account limits articles, checked on September 25, 2026.
Hostinger’s plan, pricing, refund, server location, and hosting agreement pages were checked the same day.
Our Methodology explains how we evaluate hosts, and our Editorial Guidelines cover fact-checking and corrections.



